Review: In You Records – Amsterdam VA Vol.1

The second major album to feature on The 5:15 dropping in time for this years ADE, after we reviewed OneFold DGTL‘s ADE Sampler, comes from In You Records and their handpicked selection of Tech House tasters. In only two years In You have already imprinted their sound onto thousands; up-front Tech House that just makes you want to dance, and this album is no different. A 15-strong platter with something to suit every crowd, each track adding a little extra variety, exactly what we expect of the yearly ADE targeted VAs that appear in our inbox.

In the interest of word counts we will select a handful of favourites from the release, but the entire album is worth exploring if you are looking for set gems for your sets. In no particular order…


Mij Mack, Piers Baillie – Sheba (Original Mix)

A thick but simple bassline gives ‘Sheba’ some floor shaking power. Tribal percussion layers compliment the tribal chant vocals, similar to the recent hit ‘Tribesman’ by Solardo, to complete the track. Overall, a great tempo builder.


Josh Pearce – Get It Right (Luca Secco & Craftkind Remix)

An uplifting vocal track full of funk, breaks and percussion. The vintage-feel synth layers give ‘Get It Right’ a cutting edge and plenty of crowd controlling energy.


Menesix – Emergency (Original Mix)

Heavy contrast between build-ups and drops make ‘Emergency’ a lot of fun. Vocal stabs, sirens, vinyl scratches and 90’s house feeling chords suddenly switch into a low flowing bassline, layered with crowd noise and a strong kick. Our pick of the release.


Fraser Whalen – Most Wanted (Original Mix)

As huge fans of his tracks ‘Grove St.’ and ‘GET UP’ for their straight up party vibes, we were a little surprised to hear ‘Most Wanted’, though not disappointed. A chunky bassline heavier than his previous releases makes for a slightly darker feel, with echoing vocal shots and immersive break downs. A powerful track.


RIFFA, Rupert Wall – Main Power (Jovan Vucetic Remix)

This remix makes for a strong set weapon, with plenty of electronic samples and rolling snares, ‘Main Power’ does exactly what its name would suggest, injecting a lot of energy to any dance-floor. A great well rounded track that would suit many sets.



Tracks from Blu LeopardFAKE SELFAlex Twitchy and Andruss, Pinco, MXWLL, James DX, Hot Mustard, Andy Peimbert, and Casillas Twins complete this huge collaborative album.

Full Album Preview:


Our Score: 7.5/10

Label: In You Records

Release Date: 06/10/17

BUY NOW: Traxsource

In You Records

SoundCloud  –  Facebook



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s